Director Message

The School of Biological Sciences, University of Nairobi was formed in February 2006 with the merging of the former departments of Botany and Zoology in line with the university rationalization. The School is committed to embracing good practice changes concomitant with the Millennium Development Goals especially in the areas of training, research, consultancies and community outreach programmes in biological sciences. In tandem with this, the School has an elaborate five years Strategic Plan which guides the running of the School. The use of performance appraisal practice for staff is streamlined and we engage in practical team building. These and other evolving changes have made the School a competitive learning and innovative research institution with a bias in biotechnology development in Kenya and we are working towards evolving the School into a competitive research and learning institution in the Africa region and the world.


The merging of the former departments of Botany and Zoology has undoubtedly strengthened the various fields of biology, yielding a complimentary in all directions, to make us the Biology School of choice in the East and Central Africa region. The School graduated the first candidates in the newly introduced programme, B.Sc. in Environmental and Natural Resources Management in September 2010. The school launched a number of new programmes and courses in addition to the existing ones which were received with enthusiasm by the biological sciences fraternity and stakeholders. Our degree programmes are studied within the college or by distance learning.

Our academic staff members have continued to contribute immensely in the overall management of Universities in Kenya for example Prof. R. Mibey is the immediate former Vice Chancellor, Moi University; Prof. Lucy W. Irungu is the current Vice-Chancellor of Machakos University. Prof J. Kokwaro is the Council Chairman for Great Lakes University, Kisumu (GLUK); Prof. Florence A. Oyieke is currently the Deputy Director, Student Welfare Authority (SWA), the late Prof G.M Siboe was the initiator and first coordinator of the open and distance learning programme in science (B.Sc and B.Ed). Similarly members of our staff also continue to contribute immensely to the development of Kenya by serving in various capacities within the public sector, for example Prof M.J. Ntiba is currently the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Fisheries; Ms D. Sigana is the National Coordinator for Pelagic Fisheries in the South West Indian Ocean Fisheries Project (SWIOFP) and a member of the Integrated Coastal Zone Management Committee which is under the National Environment Management Authority (NEMA); Prof J. Kinyamario is a member of the Coffee Board of Kenya. Many of the academic staff members are also serving as external examiners for universities within the region and beyond and are members of editorial boards of various refereed journals for example Prof J. Kokwaro, author of Medicinal Plants of East Africa, Third Edition 2009, is a member of Editorial Committee for the African Journal of Ecology. Prof J. Kokwaro is also a Founder Fellow of Kenya National Academy of Sciences (1983), Fellow of African Academy of Sciences and is the first recipient of Doctor of Science, (University of Nairobi) in East Africa. A number of our staff members are also involved in various important roles for the Kenyan welfare

The School is accredited by Pest Control Products Board to carry out efficacy tests on  pest control products and  has existing collaborative links with the International Center of Insect Physiology and Ecology (ICIPE), ICRAF, International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI), Kenya Wildlife Services (KWS), Sussex University, the Belgium Inter-University Council (VLIR) and Below-ground Biodiversity. We welcome and encourage partnerships and links in the following thematic areas:

Ethnobiology and systematics Microbiology, Parasitology and biotechnology Biology of Conservation (Aquatic and Terrestrial) Physiology and Cellular Biology (plant and Animal) Entomology (Medical, Agricultural and Forestry) Hydrobiology

The School produces a large number of postgraduate students who are well trained in the Biological Sciences and who are absorbed in the various relevant fields, locally and internationally.

Individuals and Institutions wishing to collaborate with the School of Biological Sciences can contact us directly or any of our members of staff.